Hey fabulous Jbelle Fans!  Thanks so much for checking us out today!  I wanted to share this quick little Easter project with you, and, yes, it involves two of my favorite products – Shimmerz and Primas, of course!   Honestly, I think everything that I used for this project would go on my favorite list!  Shimmerz, Prima, Basic Grey, Imaginisce, Nestabilities, and Copics – yep – They’d all make my top 10 list!

kisaspapercuts271First I took a Michael’s $1 wood gift box and painted it with a quick coat of white acrylic paint.  While it was still wet, I put a couple quick coats of Ultra Marine Shimmerz on it until it reached the color intensity that I was looking for.  I could have painted the box with just the Shimmerz, but because the wood is porous the Shimmerz paint would act more like a stain and stain the wood and make it shimmery, rather than give me the true blue color that I was looking for.  I could have also just mixed the Shimmerz with the acrylic paint before painting it on, but I wasn’t sure how much to use, so I found just adding the Shimmerz to the wet paint worked best for me!  It was a bit hard to pick up the shimmer on the wood with my camera….but it is there…..and it is beautiful!

For the Prima flowers, I did pre-mix the acrylic paint with the Shimmerz.  It doesn’t take much Shimmerz to tint the paint if you are working in small quantities, which I was for the flowers.  I LOVE how the paint made the flowers a bit on the stiff side – they kept their shape so well, and of course, I LOVE the shimmering creamy blue the two mixed together created!

kisaspapercuts272
While the paint was drying, I stamped my Imaginisce image and colored it with Copics.  I used a white gel pen for just a touch of highlight on the cheek and the flower’s center. I cut this out with a Nestabilities circle and placed it on top of a piece of Basic Grey – Bitter Sweet paper cut with the Nesties scalloped circle, and then I layered that on top of the two squares of Bitter Sweet.  Once my flowers and box were dry, I added Bitter Sweet glazed brads to the flower centers, glued on my Bitter Sweet pieces and my Imaginisce image, then stuck the Prima’s on with a few glue dots.  I added a cute glittery bunny soap and a mini scrubby with some white paper grass filler to finish it off!

I think this makes for a healthy, clean fun treat for anyone!  Of course, you could make the wooden gift box for so many different occasions!  I love that this box won’t smash like a paper box would, and it isn’t so huge that it would take 10 pounds of candy to fill it!
kisaspapercuts273 hope this gives you some inspiration to create some good clean fun! ~~ Kisa

*Please remember to check the post below for an exciting announcement about a sale at the store!!*

